5 Ways to Motivate Self

When in need of a little push, here’s what I normally do.

#1 Turn to good books

To be honest, I do envy people with strong family support, something which I lack since young. These people seem to be able to accomplish anything! Yeah life’s not fair. But if you spend your whole life finding fairness, you’ll never find it right?

Thankfully, as a teen, I found books, as a replacement of the strength and motivation I didn’t get from home. One of my first reads was Sean Covey’s The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens, which introduced me to having a positive mindset/paradigm shifts – which helped shape the person I am amid growing pains.

In college, I also turned to books by John Maxwell whom I regard as a father figure and one of my major influences when it comes to character building. Today I still revisit most of his books, with Failing Forward and Leadership Gold being my favourites.

Of late, however, with no much time to read, I listen to audio books while driving. Currently, I’m listening to Tony Robbins’ Awaken the Giant Within – which was recorded in his own voice. I can totally feel his energy as though I was in the audience of his seminar!

Books. They NEVER fail to keep my spirits up.

#2 Turn to your role models

On days when I feel sluggish, I normally spend a few good hours watching inspiring interviews or speeches for motivation (which also doubles as entertainment! hehe) I’m sure everyone has a role model or 2 whom they turn to for positive energy, people that’ll instantly inspire you as soon as they speak!

I have a lengthy list of people who I typically youtube. Two out of the bunch that I really love watching are Ivanka Trump and Gwyneth Paltrow. Ivanka, because of her class, business savvy and confidence. Gwyneth because of her likeable personality, focus on fitness and youthfulness (you have to agree that she looks nothing like a 40 year old!).

Watching them, you just can’t help but get off the couch and start working! (either the brain or the body!)

#3 Turn to positive individual(s) in your life

It’s true that you are who you surround yourself with. While I didn’t get enough positive input from home, I was very fortunate to be placed in good schools where I met friends who want to succeed in life as much as I do.

Whenever I feel like rubbish, I’ll turn to them and they never fail motivate me either by showering me quotes or reminding me about the dreams we used to talked about in our classrooms or having coffee together, while ranting it all out!

#4 Keep a list of accomplishments

This is something I recently discover that works amazingly well for me. I realised documenting both your present and planned accomplishments makes you want to accomplish more. I find myself enthusiastically doing more just so that I can fill up this little “book of fame” of mine.

It’s especially handy in times when you feel you lack direction while faced with challenges. You open the book of your past successes, you’ll find wow that’s not too bad. I attained this, this and that over the last 2 months! It’s all worth the effort!

And of course, planned accomplishments serve to keep you guided.

#5 Start DOING something

This is some hella wisdom fished out from John Maxwell’s Failing Forward – which I can totally attest to!

Motivation is not going to strike you like lightning. And motivation is not something that someone else – a nurse, doctor, family member – can bestow or force on you. The whole idea of motivation is a trap. Forget motivation. Just do it. Exercise, lose weight, test your blood sugar, or whatever. Do it without motivation and then guess what. After you start doing the thing, that’s when the motivation comes and makes it easy for you to keep on doing it.

Its true. As Jerome Bruner quotes “You are more likely to act yourself into feeling than feel yourself into action”. So act!

What do you do to motivate yourself?

Leave a Reply

